Username:

Password:

Altair AstroDIO DehumidifiersAtik CamerasModern AstronomyDavid HindsAPT

Author Topic: Starry night 6 problem  (Read 393 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tony.673

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 665
  • N 37 10' 48" W 1 55' 07"
Starry night 6 problem
« on: 13:39:23, 20 March, 2017 »
I,ve been running Starry Night Pro Plus 6 for a few years now and always had the problem of shut down after an NGC item search. Simulation Curriculum (the developer) only seems to have a FAQ section and this problem isn't listed.
I've often tried re-installs and different pcs and operating systems.
Other than this problem everything works fine.
Has anyone else experienced problem or found a solution.

Tony
102mm f6 refractor, HEQ5, AA Gpcam130c, Neximage, SPC900, Celestron 15x70 binos, Canon 550D 70-300mm, 18-250mm, 400mm f6.3 & nifty fifty.

Offline psjshep

  • Phil, who still has a job
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9766
  • The 16200 is getting a lot of use!
    • Some astro Pics
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #1 on: 20:30:36, 20 March, 2017 »
Hi Tony,

I just tried with my version (6.4.3) with a Find->NGC1907 (is near to where I am trying to image right now)...

SNP finds it & moves the display to it just fine...

Maybe if you say exactly what you do to get it to crash?

Phil
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Web Images

Offline Darkstarshado

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 192
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #2 on: 21:51:25, 20 March, 2017 »
Some versions (5.x certainly, not sure about 6) rely on quicktime and only certain versions of QT work properly with it so allowing QT to update itself *will* cause big problems.  You may therefore need to remove your current version of QT and re-install the version which came with your version of SNP and configure QT to never update.  I'm successfully running Starry Night Pro 5.8.2 under Windows 10 Pro 64-bit with QT 6.5.1.  Just don't use Quicktime for ANYTHING else as it's a security nightmare, so remove all QT file associations using the settings as soon as you install it.
This may or may not be your issue but it's definitely worth looking into.
Rob (~52N, ~1W)
Paramount ME, Orion Optics(UK) VX14, Skywatcher150p, Skywatcher ED100. Canon 450D,350D, Atik One 6.0, Lodestar X2, QHY5LII, DMK21, Roll-off obs.

Offline tony.673

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 665
  • N 37 10' 48" W 1 55' 07"
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #3 on: 06:45:38, 21 March, 2017 »
My latest attempt was with NGC2239 and when I typed it into the search box the program crashed. I have done a search on line using variations on the search wording and eventually come across a link for Simulation Curriculum that states that it is a known problem that is fixed in SN 7. So all I have to do is pay them another $109 for the upgrade and my troubles are over. I think I will live with it.

Tony
102mm f6 refractor, HEQ5, AA Gpcam130c, Neximage, SPC900, Celestron 15x70 binos, Canon 550D 70-300mm, 18-250mm, 400mm f6.3 & nifty fifty.

Offline psjshep

  • Phil, who still has a job
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9766
  • The 16200 is getting a lot of use!
    • Some astro Pics
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #4 on: 09:05:00, 21 March, 2017 »
Rob, I seem to remember a situation you describe with an earlier version of SNP... so, just for completenes, the version of QuickTime I have is 7.76.80.95

What about your version, Tony?

Phil
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Web Images

Offline tony.673

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 665
  • N 37 10' 48" W 1 55' 07"
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #5 on: 10:47:17, 21 March, 2017 »
Hi Phil,
My version of QuickTime is 7.7.7

Tony
102mm f6 refractor, HEQ5, AA Gpcam130c, Neximage, SPC900, Celestron 15x70 binos, Canon 550D 70-300mm, 18-250mm, 400mm f6.3 & nifty fifty.

Offline psjshep

  • Phil, who still has a job
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9766
  • The 16200 is getting a lot of use!
    • Some astro Pics
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #6 on: 16:33:30, 21 March, 2017 »
maybe try to update to a later version?  clutching at straws a bit, I know....

Sometimes, when I have had a crash from a program in the past, I have run Process Monitor (ProcMon) which allows you to see which files a program is accessing (Registry keys too!)

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/processmonitor.aspx

It needs to filter just the program you are interested in, else you see HUGE amounts of information... if you think it might help to see where it seems to be failing, could give it a go?

Phil
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Web Images

Offline ChrisLX200

  • Poster God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2281
  • Macclesfield UK
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #7 on: 21:37:33, 21 March, 2017 »
My V.6 does that if I'm slow at typing (!)  Type 'ngc' in the search box, then pause a second to check the number I want and it will crash. Type in quickly e.g., 'ngc4565' and no crash. This is perfectly repeatable. Doesn't happen with v.7 though.. I assume it's something to do with the search routine returning too many hits.

ChrisH
Chris Heapy - current: 10-Micron GM2000HPS-II U/P, G11/Gemini, TV NP127is, Altair 8" RC, TV Genesis SDF, TV Pronto, SW Equinox 80ED, 10" LX200, 12" f/5.4 Newt, Vixen 90mm.
Atik 490EX, Atik EFW, Baader LRGB filters, Astrodon 3nM NB filters, Lodestar, QHY5L-II all-sky, Canon 70D and 350D
Whirley Obs., MPC Code Z89

Offline psjshep

  • Phil, who still has a job
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9766
  • The 16200 is getting a lot of use!
    • Some astro Pics
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #8 on: 23:59:48, 21 March, 2017 »
Oooo Weird!  I just tried it on mine, Chris....   long pause between NGC4.....     and boom!

Interesting!

tbh, I always type the NGC number in 1 go.....   a mystery is afoot!

Phil
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Web Images

Offline tony.673

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 665
  • N 37 10' 48" W 1 55' 07"
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #9 on: 06:57:17, 22 March, 2017 »
Thanks for looking guys. As the program runs otherwise with no problems I was just trying to iron out this little quirk. If I just type NGC in the search box I can scroll down the list to find what I want, but I'm glad that others have seen this glitch. I certainly won't be spending another $109 for the upgrade any time soon.

Tony
102mm f6 refractor, HEQ5, AA Gpcam130c, Neximage, SPC900, Celestron 15x70 binos, Canon 550D 70-300mm, 18-250mm, 400mm f6.3 & nifty fifty.

Offline ChrisLX200

  • Poster God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2281
  • Macclesfield UK
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #10 on: 09:36:08, 22 March, 2017 »
I still prefer using V.6 to the new V.7, the older version has a much better interface I think. I would not have upgraded had I looked at it more closely but at the time I thought I was just getting an upgraded 6 not a complete re-write of the front end!

ChrisH
Chris Heapy - current: 10-Micron GM2000HPS-II U/P, G11/Gemini, TV NP127is, Altair 8" RC, TV Genesis SDF, TV Pronto, SW Equinox 80ED, 10" LX200, 12" f/5.4 Newt, Vixen 90mm.
Atik 490EX, Atik EFW, Baader LRGB filters, Astrodon 3nM NB filters, Lodestar, QHY5L-II all-sky, Canon 70D and 350D
Whirley Obs., MPC Code Z89

Offline tony.673

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 665
  • N 37 10' 48" W 1 55' 07"
Re: Starry night 6 problem
« Reply #11 on: 18:21:19, 22 March, 2017 »
Yes Chris, I agree. As stated I've been using V6 for about 5 years and to date my only gripe has been with this item search and crash. It's ability to control my equipment is brilliant and all controls very easy.

Tony
102mm f6 refractor, HEQ5, AA Gpcam130c, Neximage, SPC900, Celestron 15x70 binos, Canon 550D 70-300mm, 18-250mm, 400mm f6.3 & nifty fifty.

 

ukbuysellUKAI on FacebookSharpSkyblankSponsorship Opportunity
TinyPortal © 2005-2012