Username:

Password:

Altair AstroDIO DehumidifiersAtik CamerasModern AstronomyDavid HindsNe3 Filters
UKAI is moving to Facebook

Author Topic: Crash course on imaging with a PST needed for Friday :-)  (Read 802 times)

Offline Drane

• Cannock Staffs
    • White Peak Astronomical Observing Group
Hi all

I have just looked at the weather forcast for the partial eclipse on Friday morning and at the moment it does not look to bad for where I am (Staffs)    so I have just decided  I would love to do something that I have never done before with my PST and that is to get some images of the sun with my PST  :D

So is there anybody here that could run by me the basics ?

Here is what I have at my disposal so if I could use any of this kit then that would be a bonus  :D

I have a ART 285 camera, Phillips webcam, Atik 2HS camera, Canon umodded 300d and of course my PST  :D

so what would be the easiest way of getting a image ?

Would just love to be able to get some shots of the partial eclipse  :D so if anybody could help that would be great  :D

Cheers
Dave

C9.25, EQ6 Pro,Toucam Pro II,Canon 450D,WO ZS80II ED APO , Grab & Go SLT Go-To Mount & WO ZS66 SD APO,

http://www.wpaog.co.uk

Oh god it's raining....but im not complainin ;-)

Offline Ben Ritchie

• Poster God
  • Bosham, UK
Re: Crash course on imaging with a PST needed for Friday :-)
« Reply #1 on: 13:31:37, 30 July, 2008 »
The biggest challenge with a PST for imaging is being able to reach focus at all - I need to use a barlow to reach focus, usually either a AE 1.6x magnimax (or whatever it's called) which is a simple screw-on lens, or a 2x. Apparently you can use low-profile nosepieces (at least with some webcams?) but i've never got that working with anything I had.