Username:

Password:

Altair AstroDIO DehumidifiersAtik CamerasModern AstronomyDavid HindsNe3 Filters

Author Topic: Lights and Darks  (Read 1984 times)

Offline graham.b

• I am in Swindon
Lights and Darks
« on: 17:12:00, 30 September, 2009 »
Ok i am new to this and only in the last couple of days got into a bit more serious side of imaging. I got to understand the dark side, but this light subtraction, i have tried to a little background work.

It goes as this, it is the light just before dark fallls, but what time do you know when this is. just before street lights. Then there are some that build a box to fit over the end of the tub, with a small wattage light in it.
 So could some explain in lay mans terms how and when, or what to do.

Regards Graham

Offline JohnH

• Poster God
Re: Lights and Darks
« Reply #1 on: 21:44:46, 30 September, 2009 »
Hello Graham, most CCD images including DSLR's require calibration to remove image sizzle/hot pixels/variation in brightness across image and dust marks.  The lights are the actual images you take, every now and again take a dark with exactly the same exposure with cap on camera this will show noisy pixels - minimum of 3-5 darks, take when cloud passes over to save imaging time.  Bias frames are the fastest shutter speed to isolate readout noise which show as faint lines across image - take 15 of these.  Finally Flats can be taken in twilight or using a diffuser at an evenly illuminated surface - 1/4 - 2sec exposure take 15 of these.  Some make a light box to go over refractor which is easier and will give a better quality flat.  Put your lights/darks/flats/bias into automated software and lights will be calibrated removing all the rubbish from the individual flats and your clean lights can be stacked and then processed to give a smoother image with better detail.

We need to know what scope/camera your using?

John.