Username:

Password:

UKAI is moving to Facebook

Author Topic: How To Remove Vignetting And Gradients Using Photoshop  (Read 2289 times)

Offline stealthtech

• Poster God
  • "Always pass on, what you have learned"
How To Remove Vignetting And Gradients Using Photoshop
« on: 19:11:21, 04 November, 2011 »
Hi All,

I'm just starting out into the world of DSO imaging, and recently learned a good technique for removing vignetting and gradients using Photoshop. Obviously, it's better if you can eliminate these at the point of capture, but if they do appear in your images removal is fairly easily with a few simple steps. I posted this technique, recently, in reply to a post by Andy (G4THI) and have used his same image for the pictures here - hope you don't mind, Andy. It was suggested posting the technique here may also benefit others in the future, so with that in mind here's a brief description of the process, followed by 4 screen shots of the steps. My version of Photoshop is CS4, and hopefully other versions should be a similar layout to this. Remember, each image is different so use the settings here as a starting point and experiment to find ones that suit your image.

Open the image in PS, on the top bar select Image > Duplicate and title this 'copy' or 'blur', something to distinguish it from the original, as in pic 1.

Select the copy image and then, on the top bar select Filter > Noise > Dust & Scratches. This will open the dialogue box you see in pic 2. In the dialogue box set the Radius to something like 30 - 50  Pixels (try a few settings) and click 'ok'. This will really blur the image, as in pic 2. Notice the blue halos from the stars are still visible. Next step is to tone the blueness down a bit.