Username:

Password:

Altair AstroDIO DehumidifiersAtik CamerasModern AstronomyDavid HindsNe3 Filters

Author Topic: Newbie needs help connecting DSLR to Skywatcher 130M Scope..  (Read 18502 times)

Offline jtomo

Help...

I am a newbie to Astronomy and I have just bought my first telescope to get me going. I got the SkyWatcher 130mm Motorised version with the 900mm focal length.

http://www.nauticalia.com/uk-info/optical/telescopes/explorer_telescope/90769.html

Paid £135 so not too bad a price.

I really like photography and would like to get some nice images of the moon specifically, but possibly other planets.

My question is how on earth "No Pun Intended" do I connect a canon EOS 400D to this telescope and what exactly do I need to do this?

Hyperlinks to the adapters required would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

JTomo

Offline Phillyo

• Poster God
Re: Newbie needs help connecting DSLR to Skywatcher 130M Scope..
« Reply #1 on: 13:26:41, 03 January, 2012 »
First of all, welcome to the forum. There is a wealth of knowledge here and you'll find answers to all your questions somewhere.

Ok onto your questions. Unfortunately there's no simple "Use this" answer. To attach a DSLR to a Telescope you need to get a T-Ring Adapter from somewhere like here: http://www.modernastronomy.com/accessories.html (bottom of the page).

That connects to the camera where the lens would go and you slip it into where the eyepiece would go. Having said that, I can't see from your link if your telescope has a 2" or a 1 1/4" eyepiece.

To take pictures of the moon you need a fairly fast shutter speed so the mount you have with it isn't a problem, but for taking images of the planets and any deep space objects you need a very sturdy mount and one that can track across the sky accurately. Something like the EQ-6 etc. However for now, the T-Ring on your canon camera will attach to the telescope for imaging purposes.