Username:

Password:

Author Topic: Which 4" refractor for mainlyastrophotography?  (Read 1042 times)

Offline Leebert

Which 4" refractor for mainlyastrophotography?
« on: 20:55:24, 17 May, 2013 »
I am considering a 4" or so refractor to set up an imaging rig on an HEQ5 Pro with a William Optics 66SD for a guide scope. I have had a look around and have a list of OTAs that look like they might suit the task.
They are...

Altair Wave Series 102mm F7 Super ED Triplet APO (102/715);
TS PHOTOLIN'E 102mm f/5,2 Flatfield Super APO telescope;
APM 107/700 F6.5 Super ED Triplet APO w 3" APM focuser;
William Optics FLT 98 APO Triplet;
Skywatcher Esprit ED 100 PRO 5-element.

These vary from about £1400 to £2300.

My budget is around £1700 but could increase for the right OTA (and flattener/reducer if required).

I only want to buy once and am prepared to wait. I am a relative newbie where Astrophotography and refractors are concerned. Looking at the short list, i have a few concerns from looking around the internet...
Altair - a bit slow at f7 and no dedicated reducer yet?
TS 102 - not found any reviews etc on them?
WO - Recent quality / build issues concern me.
Esprit 100 - Really stretches my budget and they don't seem to be in stock anywhere.

I would be interested in peoples thoughts on these or any other scopes...

Many thanks,
Lee

Online chris.bailey

• Administrator
  • Poster God
    • Rosemount Observatory
Re: Which 4" refractor for mainlyastrophotography?
« Reply #1 on: 21:38:39, 17 May, 2013 »
Lee

Tricky choice. What CCD are you using with it. The FLT110 would be fine for smaller CCD;s but would need the TMB field flattener for larger one. The 110 is a great scope.

Chris
LX200|ZS70|FSQ85|FLT110|Altair DF250RC|ParamountMX|ATIK460OSC|ATIK383L+/EFW2/OAG|Lodestar|
SharpSky Motor Focuser|Lots of Cloud|Little Patience

Offline Leebert

« Reply #2 on: 06:56:29, 18 May, 2013 »
Hi Chris,