Username:

Password:

Altair AstroDIO DehumidifiersAtik CamerasModern AstronomyDavid HindsNe3 Filters

Author Topic: SGP Meridian Flip  (Read 1509 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Roger B

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8998
    • Capricorn1 observatory
SGP Meridian Flip
« on: 01:09:40, 20 October, 2015 »
For some reason SGP is not performing the meridian flip and I cannot see why as it's set to do so as far as I can see

Any help on this would be appreciated

Rog
Scopes - TS65q, W/O 110 Triplet
Mount - EQ6 PRO via  Eqmod,  Rowan belt modded
Cameras - SX694, QSI583WSG,Lodestar Guidecam, GP-Cam, QHY5II.
TS 9mm OAG
Quantum 7x1.25 EFW, Baader LRGB,Ha,OIII,SII Filters 
Quark chromo

SGPro, Pixinsight.

************AND NO TIME TO USE IT************

Offline chris.bailey

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9682
  • If at last you do succeed, don't try again
    • Rosemount Observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #1 on: 07:39:40, 20 October, 2015 »
Rog

Are you up to date with Ascom (6.0 SP1) and EQMod and do you have "allow meridian flip" ticked in the EQmod Toolbox?

Chris
LX200|ZS70|FSQ85|FLT110|Altair DF250RC|EQ6 Pro(Rowan Belt Mod)|ParamountMX
ATIK383L+/EFW2/OAG|Lodestar|Baader 36mm LRGBHaSIIOIII
Starlight Express SXVRH16/ONAG/FW|Lodestar X2|Baader 2" Filters
Starlight Express SXVRH814/ONAG/FW|LodestarX2|Baader 2" Filters
Lunt LS60PTBF1200|DMK41|Quark Chromo
Samyang 135mm f1.8

Offline Roger B

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8998
    • Capricorn1 observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #2 on: 09:29:36, 20 October, 2015 »
Upto date but not sure about the "allow meridian flip" Chris, 

I'll check that later today.

Cheers

Rog
Scopes - TS65q, W/O 110 Triplet
Mount - EQ6 PRO via  Eqmod,  Rowan belt modded
Cameras - SX694, QSI583WSG,Lodestar Guidecam, GP-Cam, QHY5II.
TS 9mm OAG
Quantum 7x1.25 EFW, Baader LRGB,Ha,OIII,SII Filters 
Quark chromo

SGPro, Pixinsight.

************AND NO TIME TO USE IT************

Offline Roger B

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8998
    • Capricorn1 observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #3 on: 20:43:48, 20 October, 2015 »
The auto meridian flip isn't tick able on My Ascom & it's V6 ????

Rog
Scopes - TS65q, W/O 110 Triplet
Mount - EQ6 PRO via  Eqmod,  Rowan belt modded
Cameras - SX694, QSI583WSG,Lodestar Guidecam, GP-Cam, QHY5II.
TS 9mm OAG
Quantum 7x1.25 EFW, Baader LRGB,Ha,OIII,SII Filters 
Quark chromo

SGPro, Pixinsight.

************AND NO TIME TO USE IT************

Offline ChrisLX200

  • Poster God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2281
  • Macclesfield UK
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #4 on: 21:08:57, 20 October, 2015 »
I don't recall doing anything special and mine 'flips', SGP tells me there is not sufficient time to complete the next sub before reaching the limit, pops up a dialog box with a countdown timer, then I can either wait and let it flip automatically or hit the 'Flip Now' button in the dialog box.

ChrisH
Chris Heapy - current: 10-Micron GM2000HPS-II U/P, G11/Gemini, TV NP127is, Altair 8" RC, TV Genesis SDF, TV Pronto, SW Equinox 80ED, 10" LX200, 12" f/5.4 Newt, Vixen 90mm.
Atik 490EX, Atik EFW, Baader LRGB filters, Astrodon 3nM NB filters, Lodestar, QHY5L-II all-sky, Canon 70D and 350D
Whirley Obs., MPC Code Z89

Offline Eccoskies

  • Administrator
  • Poster God
  • *****
  • Posts: 1833
  • Im so unlucky, if I had a pet duck it would sink !
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #5 on: 21:32:02, 20 October, 2015 »
I'm sure there's something in 'limits' in EQMod that enables you to meridian flip ?

Mark
Mark
53N 1W

Pair of binos and a beer

Offline chris.bailey

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9682
  • If at last you do succeed, don't try again
    • Rosemount Observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #6 on: 22:09:41, 20 October, 2015 »
The auto meridian flip isn't tick able on My Ascom & it's V6 ????

How very odd, it is on mine.

I have not used SGP but I have used CCDAP on the EQ6 using Ascom and that tick box certainly needs to be ticked. EQmod by default does not allow early flipping as it always tries to maintain slews (and a flip is a slew) that complete in a weights below horizontal configuration. With CCDAP it therefore has to cross the meridian before EQmod will carry out an auto flip. There was an issue with side of pier reporting but I a pretty sure that has been fixed.
LX200|ZS70|FSQ85|FLT110|Altair DF250RC|EQ6 Pro(Rowan Belt Mod)|ParamountMX
ATIK383L+/EFW2/OAG|Lodestar|Baader 36mm LRGBHaSIIOIII
Starlight Express SXVRH16/ONAG/FW|Lodestar X2|Baader 2" Filters
Starlight Express SXVRH814/ONAG/FW|LodestarX2|Baader 2" Filters
Lunt LS60PTBF1200|DMK41|Quark Chromo
Samyang 135mm f1.8

Offline ChrisLX200

  • Poster God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2281
  • Macclesfield UK
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #7 on: 22:13:38, 20 October, 2015 »
I think SGP also relies on side of pier being reported to enable flipping - the ASCOM driver is supposed to supply that.

ChrisH
Chris Heapy - current: 10-Micron GM2000HPS-II U/P, G11/Gemini, TV NP127is, Altair 8" RC, TV Genesis SDF, TV Pronto, SW Equinox 80ED, 10" LX200, 12" f/5.4 Newt, Vixen 90mm.
Atik 490EX, Atik EFW, Baader LRGB filters, Astrodon 3nM NB filters, Lodestar, QHY5L-II all-sky, Canon 70D and 350D
Whirley Obs., MPC Code Z89

Offline Roger B

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8998
    • Capricorn1 observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #8 on: 08:48:18, 21 October, 2015 »
Could it be, that I'm not using SGP to slew to an object?   I'm still using the sky for my goto's.     

What I did notice last night is that when in SGP and flip is enabled the time to meridian shows as "NA".  But if flip is unticked it shows a time to meridian.

Rog
Scopes - TS65q, W/O 110 Triplet
Mount - EQ6 PRO via  Eqmod,  Rowan belt modded
Cameras - SX694, QSI583WSG,Lodestar Guidecam, GP-Cam, QHY5II.
TS 9mm OAG
Quantum 7x1.25 EFW, Baader LRGB,Ha,OIII,SII Filters 
Quark chromo

SGPro, Pixinsight.

************AND NO TIME TO USE IT************

Offline chris.bailey

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9682
  • If at last you do succeed, don't try again
    • Rosemount Observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #9 on: 10:35:13, 21 October, 2015 »
Could it be, that I'm not using SGP to slew to an object?   I'm still using the sky for my goto's.     

Rog

You are still connected to the telescope in SGP during a sequence? If so the fact you are using a third party software element to command slews should not make a difference.

Chris
LX200|ZS70|FSQ85|FLT110|Altair DF250RC|EQ6 Pro(Rowan Belt Mod)|ParamountMX
ATIK383L+/EFW2/OAG|Lodestar|Baader 36mm LRGBHaSIIOIII
Starlight Express SXVRH16/ONAG/FW|Lodestar X2|Baader 2" Filters
Starlight Express SXVRH814/ONAG/FW|LodestarX2|Baader 2" Filters
Lunt LS60PTBF1200|DMK41|Quark Chromo
Samyang 135mm f1.8

Offline Roger B

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8998
    • Capricorn1 observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #10 on: 11:14:03, 21 October, 2015 »
Yes I still connect to the scope in SGP, along with PHD & The Sky6.   

Baffled me this,  tried last night but the same.

Rog
Scopes - TS65q, W/O 110 Triplet
Mount - EQ6 PRO via  Eqmod,  Rowan belt modded
Cameras - SX694, QSI583WSG,Lodestar Guidecam, GP-Cam, QHY5II.
TS 9mm OAG
Quantum 7x1.25 EFW, Baader LRGB,Ha,OIII,SII Filters 
Quark chromo

SGPro, Pixinsight.

************AND NO TIME TO USE IT************

Offline chris.bailey

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9682
  • If at last you do succeed, don't try again
    • Rosemount Observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #11 on: 12:15:44, 21 October, 2015 »
Rog

In SGP there are various settings associated with AutoFlipping. I think to get it to work with EQMod you might have to put the Degrees past Meridian to say 5 to ensure that EQmod will do the flip but I am flummoxed as to why the enable auto flip in EQmod is disabled as that is key to getting flips to work. Does that checkbox become tickable when you change the telescope to simulator?

Chris
LX200|ZS70|FSQ85|FLT110|Altair DF250RC|EQ6 Pro(Rowan Belt Mod)|ParamountMX
ATIK383L+/EFW2/OAG|Lodestar|Baader 36mm LRGBHaSIIOIII
Starlight Express SXVRH16/ONAG/FW|Lodestar X2|Baader 2" Filters
Starlight Express SXVRH814/ONAG/FW|LodestarX2|Baader 2" Filters
Lunt LS60PTBF1200|DMK41|Quark Chromo
Samyang 135mm f1.8

Offline Roger B

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8998
    • Capricorn1 observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #12 on: 13:42:02, 21 October, 2015 »
think I have done it,  Well I have done it but not tested it.

There are 2 settings for meridian flip in Ascom,  1 with the telescope settings there is a tick box in there, & the other is on the tool box when ascom is running.    Once checked in the settings it allows me to activate the one in the tool box.

Rog
Scopes - TS65q, W/O 110 Triplet
Mount - EQ6 PRO via  Eqmod,  Rowan belt modded
Cameras - SX694, QSI583WSG,Lodestar Guidecam, GP-Cam, QHY5II.
TS 9mm OAG
Quantum 7x1.25 EFW, Baader LRGB,Ha,OIII,SII Filters 
Quark chromo

SGPro, Pixinsight.

************AND NO TIME TO USE IT************

Offline crose01

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #13 on: 16:59:43, 28 October, 2015 »
I'd check the SGPRO log file and see if it's commanding a flip. There's a lot of useful information in the logs

Offline Roger B

  • Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8998
    • Capricorn1 observatory
Re: SGP Meridian Flip
« Reply #14 on: 21:15:06, 28 October, 2015 »
I tried again tonight and still didn't flip,  I thought it was because it was still taking an image at the time, So I waited for that exposure to finish first, but still no flip.    what I ended up doing was pausing the sequence that tell the SKY6 to slew to the object when it was past the meridian,  then started the sequence again.   but once this was done I got an error on SGP saying that it failed to flip !!!!!!!   

Anyone.

Rog
Scopes - TS65q, W/O 110 Triplet
Mount - EQ6 PRO via  Eqmod,  Rowan belt modded
Cameras - SX694, QSI583WSG,Lodestar Guidecam, GP-Cam, QHY5II.
TS 9mm OAG
Quantum 7x1.25 EFW, Baader LRGB,Ha,OIII,SII Filters 
Quark chromo

SGPro, Pixinsight.

************AND NO TIME TO USE IT************

 

ukbuysellRemote Imaging from AustraliaSharpSkyblank APTUKAI on Facebook
Powered by SMF 2.0.15 | SMF © 2006, Simple Machines LLC
DarkBreak by DzinerStudio. Theme modified by The UKAI Team

Page created in 0.586 seconds with 38 queries.
TinyPortal © 2005-2012