Username:

Password:

Altair AstroDIO DehumidifiersAtik CamerasModern AstronomyDavid HindsNe3 Filters

Author Topic: Beginner in DSLR very unsure how to use camera  (Read 855 times)

Offline rogermunns

Beginner in DSLR very unsure how to use camera
« on: 19:12:55, 01 December, 2015 »
This post is a request for help in a very unusual situation.
About 18months ago a close friend was killed in a road accident. He had, for several years, been helping me get into astroimaging. Indeed, he was probably in the top league of French amateur astronomers. It was a great shock when he died and his early death left a hole in my astro work.
The only astrophography that I had done was using Phillips and Trust webcams for planetary work and also lunar and planetary work with my Canon 550D - (in fact, it's a T2i). So, really, I'm a beginner.
Now I have been given a Canon 350D by his widow. He had spoken of it a few times, I think he hadn't used it for some time - he was into much more advanced CCD astro work.
I'm fairy sure the filter has been removed from the camera. But the main 'change' from a standard camera is a small cable (two wires) about a metre long, coming out from near the 'video' hole and ending in a 2-way jack plug. There is also, in the box, a lead with one end a USB to a 3-way jack plug at the other end.
This camera uses compactflash cards, so I'm unsure how to use the camera now - I want to get into deepsky work.
Sorry if this is a bit of an odd request, but could someone point me the way to go? Thanks.
Vixen VC200L on NEQ6, Vixen 102M on Vixen SP, Orion 80mm short-focus refractor.  Philips Toucam, Philips SPC900, Canon 550D, SC1.5 (still unused). Inexperience. Fond memories of ETX125.

Offline Einari

• Poster God
    • Einari's astro pages
Re: Beginner in DSLR very unsure how to use camera
« Reply #1 on: 19:37:31, 01 December, 2015 »
Maybe could have been some sort of remote control ?
But, may I ask if you could use 550D to start ds imaging.