Username:

Password:

Altair AstroDIO DehumidifiersAtik CamerasModern AstronomyDavid HindsNe3 Filters
Solar Gravity 2018

Author Topic: My first attempt at photographing the moon... Spoiler, its awful!  (Read 673 times)

Offline remoore

Hey all,

I am just at the very beginning of looking at astrophotography, Saturday was my first attempt at shooting the moon through a scope and, well, it was not a great sucess.

I am using a celestron Powerseeker 70AZ that my daughter got for xmas a couple of years back, plus a celestron camera adapter.

The camera is pretty good, I am a keen amateur photographer, its a nikon D800E, the scope is pretty poor and the mount is an almost weightless alt/azimuth thing, I think. came with the scope. I have some fairly heavy duty tripods but they dont mount the scope that well and they are really for terrestrial photography.

here is my setup..

and here is the closest to focus I can get

So, as I am winding the silver tube with the adapter and camera attached into the body of the main optical tube to try and find focus, I run out of space, can't get the scope short enough to get a sharp focus.

As you can see the camera is defaulting to F2.8 without any CPU lens data, not sure what that is telling me, but, in short am I flogging a dead horse with this rig or am I missing an intermediate piece of glass to help with focusing between the scope adapter and the camera sensor?

-Ed.

Offline Uplooker

Re: My first attempt at photographing the moon... Spoiler, its awful!
« Reply #1 on: 20:37:26, 03 April, 2017 »
I would suggest you first try attaching the camera to the scope without the diagonal

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ian

Scopes: SW 150P Newt, ST80, Celestron C8 XLT, TAL 100RS / PST Stage 2 Mod & BF10, SW 300PDS (soon to be on a Dob Mount)
Cameras: SPC900, QHY5, Canon 450D, DMK31AU03.AS
Mounts: NEQ6 powered by EQMod, EQ3-2

Offline g8ina

• Galactic Poster
    • Tangram Studios
« Reply #2 on: 08:00:13, 04 April, 2017 »