Username:

Password:

UKAI is moving to Facebook

Author Topic: New start but Atik or QHY?  (Read 599 times)

Offline Eddy9000

• Marco Equitani | Nature and weather photography
New start but Atik or QHY?
« on: 00:25:19, 29 June, 2017 »
Hello,
as I wrote in introduction section, I'm an italian freelance photographer and I'm not new in the world of astrophotography, I'm just a bit blighted  :laugh:
Since two years I'm not "in the business", I had problem with my QHY10 (now it's dead), I was still living with my parents, I had my final exams at university so I just gave up with astrophotography because I had not time for that, the last two years travelling into the tornado alley to chase storms definitively took all my time!
Now everything is different, since next september I'll have time again, more space in my new house and a new job, so I want to start again with this gorgeous passion!
QHY10 was for me a good deal, large sensor, single shot colour, good resolution for printings and easy to use, but now I don't want to buy again the same model, I want to start with something new, so I decided to discover the power of monochromatic sensor, I think it's a good choice for better images from my balcony...I live in a very small city, the light pollution is low, but anwyway I have it and a mono sensor can help!
As I said previously, I'm a photography, for me "size counts", I don't want a small sensor with large pixels and in the same time I don't want a large sensor with small pixels: form what I need an APS-C sensor is the perfect deal, so I searched something mono with this size but I didn't find it, so I did one step more and look for APS-H...not a FF because I had a lot of vignetting with old 5DmkII and the flattining at the corner was not perfect!