Username:

Password:

Altair AstroDIO DehumidifiersAtik CamerasModern AstronomyDavid HindsNe3 Filters
Solar Gravity 2018

Author Topic: Average UK cloud cover from 1961 - 1991  (Read 4522 times)

Offline Nomis Elfactem

• Administrator
  • Galactic Poster
    • The View From A Room
Average UK cloud cover from 1961 - 1991
« on: 22:22:52, 19 February, 2012 »
Hey peeps.

In July last summer when I was trying to test my PST Mod I was sat there getting quite depressed and thinking to myself that I was sure it was a lot more cloudy where I live now than I rememebr it being when we first moved here in 2003.

Being an analyst by profession I decided to see if I could find some data and prove it.  Anyway, whilst I was surfing on teh interweb I found that if you registered and stated your research reason there were(are) a number of different data sets available.  Unfortunaely they only make available recent data for temp and rainfall etc.  The only cloud data available was the average cloud cover in a 5km square grid over the UK, taken between 1961 and 1991.

It's taken me a while to process the data as I needed to find a way of displaying it.  In teh end I imported it into Excel and applied a "heat map" conditional format.  Red is for high average cover and green is for low average.  Because I had one sheet for each month I thought putting it into a animation would show the difference over the year. I should also point out that the difference between dark red and dark green is only relavent within each month and not between months.

My next plan is to contact the Met Offcie to see if it's possible to get my hands on some more recent data but I thought in the meantime you might find the animation interesting.  I'm also now looking to see if I can find a UK towns/city overlay so I can look at the data in a bit more detail.

Clear skies.

S.

(click on .gif to view animation)
Simon